Rayon Sports Women Football Club were crowned 2022/2023 women second division league champions after beating Indahangarwa 4-3 on penalty shoot-outs after both teams played a 1-1 draw at Bugesera stadium on Sunday

The Blues opened the scoring in the 20th minute of the first half through forward Judith Otieno before Indahangarwa skipper Marie Claire Mushimiyimana scored an equalizer in the 60th minute to force the tie in the penalty shoot outs after both teams were tied to a 1-1 after 90 minutes.

The Blues were dominant throughout the game despite having missed crucial chances at both halves.

After both teams failed to produce a deciding goal within the normal playing time, the match was forced into penalty shoot-outs and the blues went on to win 4-3.

The two teams have qualified for 2023/24 women topflight tier league. Elsewhere, APR WFC finished in the 3rdplace after beating Nasho WFC 3-1.

Rayon Sports women’s team was officially unveiled last year and it took them just one season in the second division to finish the campaign unbeaten, hence qualifying for women’s top flight football in an extraordinary style.